Strong Arms for Kids

 

$5 for a mango!!! What a deal!!! Ishigaki is exploding with mangoes this year.  And now that I have lived here for two years, I honestly believe that $5 is super cheap for mangoes (yes, that is the price for just one mango).  But luckily, I also have great friends, and was gifted a bunch of mangoes.  So now with a surplus of mangoes, I can't let them go bad, so I tried out a few different recipe ideas using mangoes.  Normally, I feel like mangoes are a perfect food, and are only ruined by changing them in any way, but honestly, most of the mangoes here lack flavor (don't get me wrong they are still delicious) but I don't feel as bad putting them in recipes.  Here are two different mango desserts, I have made in the past week.  Both are good for you, but once I start eating them, I have a problem stopping and unfortunately, even though they are healthy for you, they both have a lot of calories.

Avocado Mango Mousse w/ chopped Pistachios

Picture
Next time I would use less avocado and more mango.  But besides that, this was a really delicious dessert.

1 avocado, diced
1 mango, diced
1 block silken tofu
2 tbsp honey
½ tsp cardamom
1 tsp vanilla

Add all the ingredients to a blender.  Blend until smooth.  Put in the refrigerator and chill for 1 hour.  Serve with chopped pistachios.

Chocolate Mousse with Avocado and Mango

Picture
For this mousse, I probably would have not added any tofu, and only used the mango and avocado, but since I had some tofu to use up, I had no choice but to add it.  Its still good and gives it some extra protein, but I would have liked a stronger mango flavor in the mousse.  So the choice is yours.

1 large mango
1 small avocado
1 block silken tofu (optional)
2 tbsp honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cocoa powder

Put all ingredients in the blender.  Blend until smooth.  Let chill for at least 30 minutes.



Leave a Reply.


Google Analytics