Strong Arms for Kids

 
I just went apple picking for the first time in my life the other day, near New Paltz, New York.  It was so much fun using the stick with the cup on the end of it, but I got a stomachache afterward from eating so many apples.  And for some strange reason, there were still raspberries around for the picking, so this gave me the opportunity to make my absolute most favorite applesauce recipe in the WORLD, and of course, I had to share it. 

Raspberry Applesauce

apples ( I used Cortlands), peeled, cored and cut into 1 inch cubes
4 strips of lemon rind
2 cinnamon sticks
1 tablespoon organic cane sugar
1 pinch salt
1/2 cup water
Raspberries

Put all the ingredients, except the raspberries, into a big pot on a medium flame.  Once the apples are halfway done (about 10-15 minutes), add the raspberries and continue cooking until the apples are completely cooked.  Then you have the choice whether you want to blend the applesauce to have it smooth, or keep it chunky.  I used a hand blender and blended just slightly and kept it a little chunky.  You absolutely have to make this recipe if you are lucky enough for life to give you apples.

I used to make this recipe in Japan, when I was desperate for a taste from home, but with apples costing, at least, a dollar a piece and frozen raspberries about four dollars a bag, one batch would cost about $10.  So I only made it on rare occasions. 



Leave a Reply.


Google Analytics